VARIOUS ARTISTS: ‘Mighty Super Funk Volume 6’ (Label: BGP)

  • Home
  • Reviews
  • VARIOUS ARTISTS: ‘Mighty Super Funk Volume 6’ (Label: BGP)
VARIOUS ARTISTS: 'Mighty Super Funk Volume 6'

The somewhat uninspired and visually-challenging front cover to this and, I have to confess, all the previous volumes in compiler Dean Rudland’s ‘Super Funk’ series don’t exactly invite investigation from casual browsers – but hardcore funk fanatics know that you should never judge a funk album by its outward attire (unless it’s by the Ohio Players, of course!). As with all the previous instalments in this intriguing and seemingly endless series, volume six exposes a raft of lost late-’60s and ’70s funk treasures by acts that time forgot. The opening cut, ‘Are You Together For The New Day,’ is an incendiary groove laid down by The Love Experience, which was originally issued by the Cherry Red label in 1971. Also listen out for Mary Alice McCall’s fabulously sleek, Lyn Collins-style groover, ‘I’m Moving Home’ – arguably the collection’s standout, which includes some great string and horn charts – and Marie Franklin’s ‘Bad, Bad Woman.’ Ear-catching as well are Gloria Lucas’s soulful beater, ‘One Sweet Song,’ James Carpenter’s ‘Party Time,’ and cult soul singer, Sandra Phillips’ ‘Some Mother’s Son.’ Those who like their funk rough and ready will appreciate the riotous, ramshackle groove that is The Phillips Brothers’ zany ‘Who Stole My Cookie.’ Rudland’s archival rummaging has also unearthed some previously unissued sides, including a noteworthy version of James Brown’s funk classic, ‘Cold Sweat,’ recorded by Julio Zavalla. Talking of covers, there’s a brassy, African-flavoured mid-’70s instrumental revamp of The Isley Brothers’ ‘It’s Your Thing’ by Los Africanos. Great music – shame about the front cover though.
(CW) 4/5