VAN MORRISON has announced that he will be releasing a new album on May 7th via Exile/BMG Records. The 28-track collection (his 42nd album!) is called ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ and his people tell us that though the set delves into our man’s continuing love of blues, R&B, jazz and soul, it promises to be his most dynamic and contemporary album in years. Van himself says: “I’m getting away from the perceived same songs, same albums all the time. This guy’s done 500 songs, maybe more, so hello? Why do you keep promoting the same ten? I’m trying to get out of the box.”

The project was put together during the various enforced lockdowns when, unable to tour, Morrison remained busy with constant song writing, starting ideas on piano, guitar or saxophone. What emerged is a wealth of new material, which “offers a directness and vibrancy that comes from working with a rhythm section with whom he shares an immediate, spontaneous connection.”

You can check out the flavour of the album via the title track which has just been released as a single and with other tracks entitled ‘The Long Con’, ‘Stop Bitching, Do Something’, ‘They Own The Media’ and ‘Why Are You On Facebook?’ it looks like ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ will be an intriguing, exhilarating, provocative listen… what more could you want?

‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ will be released on double-CD, deluxe-CD, triple-vinyl and digital formats. It’s now available to pre-order.