Last month we were treated to a dreamy, seductive, soulful instrumental groove, ‘Trapped In Paradise’ from a band called MISTER REBOUND. We learned that the outfit was a  new(ish) US music collective marshalled by drummer and multi-instrumentalist Joey Campanella and included members of Durand Jones & The Indications, Orgone, & Turkuaz… people like Steve Okonski (Okonski, Durand Jones & The Indications) on keys, Dave Brandwein (Turkuaz, New Originals) on guitar, Dale Jennings (Orgone, Say She She) on bass and Danke on vocals.

We also learned that ‘Trapped In Paradise’ was the title track to the band’s “upcoming” album and that set will be with us this very weekend!

The album is a ten tracker and most of the cuts are instrumentals with a laid back vibe similar to the aforementioned ‘Trapped In Paradise’. Some, like ‘Ease Back’ are a little funkier and grittier while tracks like ‘Sunset Strut’ and ‘Rebound Theme’ are 21st century takes on the sounds of people like Jimmy Smith – one of the band’s heroes and influences.

There are a couple of vocals courtesy of Danke. She adds an ethereal but tough quality to the brooding ‘Falling In Love (Again)’ whilst delivering convincingly on the big, building  ‘Pay For Yourself’.

Mister Rebound’s ‘Trapped In Paradise’ will be released via  Color Red Records.

Leave a Comment