Demon Music Group have just released their latest tranche of terrific Tabu reissues. The three new albums in question are: – CHERRELLE’S ‘THE WOMAN I AM’, THE SOS BAND’S ‘ON THE RISE’ and BRAINSTORMS’ ‘JOURNEY TO THE LIGHT’.

CHERRELLE’S ‘The Woman I Am’ was the singer’s fourth long player and for the 10 tracker the Tabu people decided to use producers other than the tried and tested JAM/LEWIS duo. So on the set production duties were shared by NARADA MICHAEL WALDEN, KEITH KC COHEN, DEREK BRAMBLE, ZAC HARMON, CHRISTOPHER TROY, DAVID ELLIOTT, AL RICHARDSON and PETER SCOTT. Yep… quite a list, but despite that the music has a soulful unity, typified by ‘Still In Love With You’, which became a hit when released as the lead single. This new reissue comes as a case bound edition and boasts five bonus tracks and a contextual essay with insightful contributions from CHERRELLE, WALDEN and TROY.

sosTHE SOS BAND’S ‘On The Rise’ reissue comes similarly case bound and the liner notes include interview quotes from JASON BRYANT and ABDUL RA’OOF – two of the group’s founding members. The album was originally released in 1983 – peak time for the producers JAM and LEWIS –and its focal point is the world-wide smash, ‘Just Be Good To Me’. Those who are intoxicated by that particular tune will be delighted to know that this reissue features two extra mixes of the song… great memory-jerking stuff.

‘Journey To The Light’ was BRAINSTORM’S second Tabu album and was originally released in 1978 to critical acclaim. The album yielded two successful singles – ‘We’re On Our Way Home’ and ‘Loving Just You’ and remixes of both tunes feature here as reissue bonuses. As with all these new Tabu albums, this one comes specially packaged in a book style case and features an insightful set of notes from CHRISTIAN JOHN WIKANE.

All three albums are out now.