The TABU reissue programme gathers pace with the release of four collectable albums from the Tabu stable.

First up – and spot on for the upcoming season – is Alexander O’Neal’s ‘My Gift To You’. After two successful LPs Mr O’Neal recorded a great version of ‘The Christmas Song’ and we’re told that when label boss Clarence Avant heard it he was so smitten that he got his main man to record a whole Christmas long player –this one! The 10 tracker contained five traditional Christmas songs but the big attraction was the five new ones specially penned by Jam and Lewis. This new reissue comes with a splendid context-setting booklet and a couple of bonus cuts.

The three other new Tabu releases are a little more esoteric but just as essential. For starters try Demetrius Perry’s 1990 album ‘Another World’. This was the singer’s sole Tabu album and since its long-ago deletion it’s been a much sought after item. The big tune was ‘Breathless’ and though not a lot’s know about Mr. Perry, Justin Kantor’s liner notes reveal what is known.

General Caine – an 11 member soul and funk band – are another relatively unknown Tabu outfit. Influenced by George Clinton, they were led by Mitch McDowell who fronts the band on their 1983 ‘Dangerous’ long player. It was the group’s second album and this reissue features a quartet of bonus cuts which augment the original 8 songs.

The good ole SOS Band were different again, one of Tabu’s big attractions of course and their ‘One Of Many Nights’ is the fourth new Tabu reissue. Originally released in 1991, this new collectors’ edition has four bonus cuts and extensive liner notes.