With January now into its stride, time for us to remind soul fans of three key releases that might have slipped under the radar over the Christmas/New Year period.

First off, January always means the release of EXPANSION RECORDS’ acclaimed annual ‘LUXURY SOUL’ compilation and the 2021 instalment has just hit the sales racks and the new iteration maintains the soulful quality of the collections that have gone before. As ever the album is a retrospective of the best modern soul of 2020 and includes tunes from the likes of S.E.L, Joe Leavy, Johnny Britt, Myles Sanko, The Parkmans, Debra Debs, Darryl Anders, Yolanda Parker, Mamas Gun, Sound of Superbad, The Brit Funk Association feat. Chris Amoo (of The Real Thing. There are also exclusive tracks/mixes by Incognito, Tristan, Strike One (featuring Gina Foster) and Kloud 9. Right now, the focus track is ‘Celebrate’ from the Hamiltones which just about sums up the mood and the optimism of ‘Luxury Soul’ … gawd knows we need plenty of that right now! Out now.

BEY BRIGHT’S five track EP, ‘Soul Nostalgia 3’ is also officially out now too. The lead track is ‘Vibe’ – a steppers’ tune which delivers plenty more of that badly needed optimism and points to a time when we can all get out there again and enjoy our soul socially! Another key cut on the EP is ‘Don’t Stop’ – a take on the slinky, sensual side of modern soul. This one features Mr B in duet with a lady simply know as Ezinne. Out now.

Finally, IZIPHO RECORDS latest THE SOUNDS OF SUPERBAD’S ‘Vibration’ is also now officially available. It’s been getting max airplay – and little wonder, it’s a perfect modern soul artefact with a suave, soulful vocal from ROBERT IMTUME OWENS. Little too choose between the two mixes – original and “SOS Vibe”. Out now on 7” vinyl.