THE MUTUAL ADMIRATION SOCIETY are a little-known “supergroup”… little-known because they don’t play or record together all that often.

At various times the band number Toto’s Steve Lukather, Deep Purple’s Steve Morse and Dream Theatre’s John Petruccci. Marshalled by Sterling Ball, John Ferraro and Jim Cox, they’re also joined at times by virtuosos Albert Lee, Jay Graydon and Steve Vai.

The team have just released an eponymous 13 track long player and it’s a master class in guitar-led, blues-infused rock and soul. All the tracks are instrumentals and the repertoire is never less than interesting. Amongst the featured tunes are takes on ‘The In Crowd’, ‘Baby Please Don’ t Go’ , ‘Memphis Tennessee’, ‘Cryin’ Time’ and ‘I Want You Back’ and we can guarantee you’ve never heard treatments like this – especially the spin on the Jackson 5 song!

‘The Mutual Admiration Society’ is out now on Favoured Nations Records via the Mascot label. Two other current Mascot release that might interest fans of this genre are The Koch Marshall Trio’s ‘Toby Arrives’ and Michael Landau’s ‘Rock Bottom’.

Find out more @