• Home
  • News

Now in its 47th year, the redoubtable North Sea Jazz Festival – the largest indoor music festival in the world- has just revealed a second wave of artists ahead of this summer’s extravaganza at Rotterdam’s Ahoy Centre in The Netherlands. Easily accessible from London St Pancras railway station on the Eurostar or less than an hour by plane, the world-renowned festival is set to present its biggest line-up to date of international stars across jazz, blues, soul, pop, and beyond from Friday 7th – Sunday 9th July 2023.

North Sea will once again host the world’s leading jazz artists including pioneering guitarist John Mclaughlin with SHAKTI featuring Zakir Hussain and Shankar Mahadevan, revered trumpeter and educator Wynton Marsalis with his Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra, legendary UK bassist Dave Holland with his New Quartet featuring Kris Davi, South African pianist Abdullah Ibrahim, multi Grammy-award-winning arranger and composer Maria Schneider, Norwegian saxophonist Jan Garbarek, bassist and Miles Davis collaborator Marcus Miller, leading American saxophonists Kenny Garrett and Branford Marsalis, internationally acclaimed guitarist Pat Metheny with Side-Eye, and founding member of jazz fusion band Return To Forever Stanley Clarke

Joining the list of artists confirmed to perform this year – which already includes the likes of Stormzy, Little Simz, Lizzo, Tom Jones, Van Morrison, Buddy Guy, Mavis Staples, Jill Scott – are American bassist Esperanza Spalding, who is this year’s Artist In Residence, three-time Brit-award-winning soul singer Seal, trailblazing US rapper Janelle Monáe, internationally acclaimed group Snarky Puppy and US hip hop sensation Ducklwrth.

Welcoming more than 75,000 music fans each year, the North Sea Jazz Festival has built an incomparable reputation since its inaugural year in 1976 hosting a string of musical icons over the years from Miles Davis and Count Basie to Amy Winehouse and Adele. This summer the festival expects more than a thousand musicians, spread out over 150 performances and fifteen different stages. 

Tickets are still available for Sunday and available here:

Full line-up to date:

NN North Sea Jazz Festival 2023 – Rotterdam Ahoy Centre

Friday 7 July: Alabaster DePlume; Andrew Cyrille Quartet; Bia Ferreira; Bill Frisell FOUR ft. Greg Tardy, Gerald Clayton, and Jonathan Blake; Buddy Guy – Dammn Right Farewell; Camilla George; Cha Wa; Danielle Ponder; Dave Holland New Quartet featuring Kris Davis, Jaleel Shaw and Nasheet Waits; Duckwrth; Fergus McCreadie Trio; Fred Hersch & Esperanza Spalding; The Hi-Stakes; Jasper Blom Quartet with Pablo Held; Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with Wynton Marsalis; Kenny Barron Quartet; Linda May Han Oh; Marco Mezquida Trio; Maria Schneider & Oslo Jazz Ensemble presents ‘Data Lords’; Mavis Staples; Mette Rasmussen Trio North; MonoNeon; Stormzy; SuperBlue: Kurt Elling & Charlie Hunter with the Huntertones Horns; Terri Lyne Carrington; The Teskey Brothers; Trio Da Kali & North Sea String Quartet; Van Morrison; Yaya Bey; Yussef Dayes; Zwangere Guy & Lander Gyselinck.

Saturday 8 July: Abdullah Ibrahim Trio; Anna Webber Simple Trio; CHARLES TOLLIVER • AFRICA / BRASS ft. Binker Golding,  Antonio Faraò, Chris Dahlgren, Alvin Queen & New Rdam Orchestra; Brandee Younger Trio; DeWolff & Dawn Brothers present Double Cream; Eloise; Esperanza Spalding: Songwrights Apothecary Lab hosts a Co-Musicking Lab; Fred Hersch, Drew Gress, Joey Baron; Gard Nilssen’s Supersonic Orchestra; Jacob Banks; Jalen Ngonda; Jan Garbarek; Jeff Parker Quartet; Jill Scott; Kamaal Williams; Kenny Garrett Quintet; Kokoroko; Lakecia Benjamin; Laura Jurd; Lucas Santana 5tet; Marcus Miller; Mark Lettieri Group; Maya Delilah; Olivia Dean; Orchestra Baobab; Salif Keita; The Staples Jr. Singers; Snarky Puppy; Teus Nobel Liberty Group; Tom Jones; Trondheim Jazz Orchestra & GURLS; Vloeimans Goudsmit Fraanje ‘Fugimundi’.

Sunday 9 July: Alessandro Fongaro’s Pietre; Artemis; Benny Sings; Branford Marsalis Quartet; Cymande; EZRA Collective; Endea Owens & The Cookout; Gabriels; Hermeto Pascoal; Janelle Monáe; John McLaughlin’s SHAKTI featuring Zakir Hussain and Shankar Mahadevan; Kandace Springs; Latanya Alberto; Laufey; Lizzo; Madison McFerrin; Ndlovu Youth Choir; NOHMI; Oded Tzur; Off-Brand gOdds”: Esperanza Spalding & Antonio Brown Dance; Paradox Jazz Orchestra ‘Remembering The Skymasters’; Pat Metheny Side-Eye; Samara Joy; Sampa The Great; Seal; Somi; Son Little; Sona Jobarteh; Stanley Clarke N’4Ever; Teis Semey Quintet; Typhoon; Yuri Honing’s Peace Orchestra.