By now you should know that brand leading UK indie soul label DOME RECORDS is 30 years old this year and its celebrating the anniversary by releasing a slew of great music. In April we were treated to a wonderful compilation that offered plenty of wonderful music from the label’s back catalogue alongside some new stuff and fresh mixes of the familiar.

The great news is that the Dome people have just launched a second compilation that’s been put together in the same way and, musically, it’s every bit as good as volume 1.

The collection is a 25 tracker and, yes it’s a cliché, but there is no filler… it’s soul killers all the way. From the label’s archive we can enjoy stuff like Angela Johnson’s lovely ‘Rescue’ Me’, Bev Knight’s career-launching ‘Feel The Flavour Of The Old School’, Mikelyn Roderick’s ‘Slippin’’ and Lulu’s wonderful ‘Independence’. Then there’s the new stuff – Shaun Escoffery’s ‘Set Me Free’the Michele Chiavarini mix of Full Flava’s ‘Nature Boy’ and the reunion of Anthony David and Algebra Blessett on the gospel tinged ‘Heaven’. One of the real highlights though is the new Drizabone mix of Dennis Taylor’s ‘Smile’.

And that track reminds us of just how many big names have worked with Dome… I mean people like Incognito, George Duke, Rahsaan Patterson, Eric Roberson, Brenda Russell, Khari Cabral Simmons and  Carleen Anderson. Not bad for a UK indie label! More to come, we hope!