The latest incarnation of the BLUE NOTE ALL STARS (an occasional aggregation formed in 2014 to celebrate the 75th anniversary of the iconic jazz label) comprises Robert Glasper (keys), Ambrose Akinmusire (trumpet), Marcus Strickland (tenor sax), Lionel Loueke (guitars), Derrick Hodge (bass) and Kendrick Scott (drums).

The sextet has already built up their own impressive Blue Note catalogue and now, as a collective, they’re set to release their ‘Our Point Of View’ album. The 11 tracker, released on 6th October, includes originals by each of the band members as well as two covers of Wayne Shorter compositions – an 18 minute reading of ‘Witch Hunt’ and a take on his ‘Masqueiero’ – as a real bonus here Shorter guests on sax and Herbie Hancock’s there too to add his distinctive piano shadings.