KOOL AND THE GANG will be celebrating their 60th anniversary next year and the band (now essentially founding members Robert “Kool” Bell (bassist) and George “Funky” Brown(keyboardist and drummer)) have announced that they’ll be releasing a new album in  July  via Astana Music Inc, distributed by BFD/The Orchard.

The new album will be the veteran band’s 34th studio album and will feature some of the last studio work by founding horn players, Kool’s brother Ronald “Khalis” Bell and Dennis “D.T.” Thomas, who passed in 2020 and 2021. Lead vocals on the album come via Shawn McQuiller, Lavell Evans, Dominique Karan, Rick Marcel, Walt Anderson, rappers Ami Miller & Ole and Sha Sha Jones.

Indeed Ms Jones is out front on the album’s first single – ‘Let’s Party’. The title says it all and the tune fits perfectly with Kool and the Gang’s mission statement to “make the good times better and the bad times more bearable”.