• Home
  • News


The nominees for this  year’s much-anticipated JAZZ FM awards, due to take place on International Jazz Day, on Thursday April 30th in London’s Shoreditch Town Hall, have just been announced and recognise the idiom’s rising stars and its contemporary trendsetters as well as the iconic trailblazers.

Those nominated range from true giants, like jazz legend John Coltrane, whose album ‘Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album,’ stormed into the UK Top 40 album charts last year, and octogenarian saxophone guru, Wayne Shorter, whose ‘Emanon’ album – a contender in the Album Of The Year category – has just picked up a Grammy award. Also nominated from the USA are saxophonist Kamasi Washington,  veteran blues maven, Eric Bibb, jazz sage, Charles Lloyd, soul singers, Leon Bridges and Jose James, and rising drummer/composer, Makaya McCraven.

As always, the Jazz FM Awards, despite  being international in its scope , also has a strong British flavour, reflected by the presence of Biriths jazz acts, Sons Of Kemet along with Nubya GarciaEmma Jean-Thackray, Joe Armon-JonesMoses BoydCamilla George, Cassie Kinoshi, Ian Shaw and Rob Luft.  

Hosting the Awards Ceremony with Jez Nelson is Jazz FM’s Head of Music and broadcaster, Chris Philips, who says:“This year’s Jazz FM Award nominees list reflects another tremendous year of growth and interest in the music. In particular it’s fantastic to see some of our formerly recognised emerging talent like Nubya Garcia and Shabaka Hutchings sharing nominations with some of the world’s best, testament indeed to a vibrant and strengthening jazz community and industry here in the UK.”

You can have your say by taking part in the public vote here – www.jazzfmawards.com – but you’ll have to hurry because the  closing date is on Monday 12th March 2019.

Here’s the full list of 2019 Nominees:


Breakthrough Act


Cassie Kinoshi 

Emma-Jean Thackray

Sarah Tandy


The Digital Award with Oanda


Blue Lab Beats

Louis Cole

Moses Boyd – 1Xtra Residency


The Innovation Award with Mishcon de Reya


Orphy Robinson – Freedom Sessions at Vortex

Steam Down

Tomorrow’s Warriors


Instrumentalist of the Year


Camilla George

Jean Toussaint

Rob Luft


International Jazz Act of the Year with Lateralize


Jamie Branch

Makaya McCraven

Wayne Shorter


Soul Act of the Year


José James

Leon Bridges

Poppy Ajudha


Blues Act of the Year


Eric Bibb

Errol Linton

Roosevelt Collier


Vocalist of the Year


Cherise Adams-Burnett

Ian Shaw

Judi Jackson


UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote) with Cambridge Audio


Jason Yarde

Joe Armon-Jones

Nubya Garcia


Album of the Year (Public Vote) with Arqiva


Charles Lloyd & The Marvels + Lucinda Williams – Vanished Gardens

Jean Toussaint Allstar 6Tet – Brother Raymond

John Coltrane – Both Directions At Once: The Lost Album

Sons of Kemet – Your Queen Is A Reptile

Various Artists – We Out Here

Wayne Shorter – Emanon


Live Experience of the Year (Public Vote)


Jason Moran: The Harlem Hellfighters – Tour

Jazz Re:Fest 2018: Brighton Edition

Makaya McCraven and Nubya Garcia – EFG London Jazz Festival

Orphy Robinson presents Van Morrison’s Astral Weeks – Tour

Steam Down featuring Kamasi Washington

The Cookers – Church of Sound


Impact Award




PRS Gold Award




PPL Lifetime Achievement Award