Blue Note Records have just announced three significant new releases at the start of 2013.

Seraphic-voiced New Orleans soul man AARON NEVILLE debuts for the iconic label with ‘My True Story,’ a twelve-track album produced by Don Was and Rolling Stones’ guitarist Keith Richards (pictured with Neville – photo by Sarah A Friedman). The album’s material is drawn from some of Neville’s favourite tunes from the doo-wop era and also includes distinctive new versions of The Drifters’ ‘Money Honey’ and ‘Ruby Baby’ plus a fresh take on The Impressions Curtis Mayfield-penned ‘Gypsy Woman.’ The album’s released on January 21st.


Jose_JamesJazz singer, JOSÉ JAMES, also makes his Blue Note debut with his third long player, ‘No Beginning No End,’ which is in the shops on January 22nd. His collaborators on a set that melds jazz with R&B and hip-hop include noted jazz keyboardist Robert Glasper, bassist/producer Pino Palladino, R&B singer/songwriter Emily King and pianist Kris Bowers.



BN_Wayne_ShorterLegendary saxophonist/composer, WAYNE SHORTER, recorded for Blue Note in the 1960s when he was a member of Miles Davis’s pathfinding quintet. Now, he’s back with the label after a forty-three hiatus and returns with a live album, ‘Without a Net,’ on February 5th. It features some new compositions as well as old favourites and showcases his quartet, which comprises pianist Danilo Perez, bassist John Patitucci, and drummer, Brian Blade.