Sunday, 03 March 2019 10:37 Charles Waring E-mailPrintPDF


On April 19th, acclaimed English jazz singer, ANTHONY STRONG, unveils his keenly-awaited fourth album,  'Me And My Radio,' which is released via Guaranteed! Records.

The new 12-song set finds the svelte-voiced 34-year-old Croydon-born crooner and pianist putting his own inimitable spin on a wide-ranging collection of imaginatively-arranged and well-produced tunes. As well as interpreting jazz standards - such as 'Ain't Misbehavin',' 'Anything Goes,' and 'Smile' - Strong raps his smooth, soulful tonsils around Stevie Wonder's 'My Cherie Amour,' and offers up a tremendous version of UK soul group The Real Thing's  'You To Me Are Everything.'  The singer also delivers an impressive self-penned number called 'Gamblin' Man Blues' - rendered as an energetic big band number - and covers 'Sixteen Tons,' the latter a Merle Travis song written in 1946. It has been covered by everyone from Johnny Cash to Tom Jones but such is Strong's talent that he is able to make the song indisputably his own.  

Defined by a sense of cool sophistication, 'Me & My Radio,' is another fascinating chapter in Strong's career and looks certain to build on the success of his previous albums 'Stepping Out' and 'On A Clear Day.'

Anthony Strong's 'Me & My Radio' Is Released On 19 April By Guaranteed! Records

Last Updated on Tuesday, 05 March 2019 21:01



Sunday, 03 March 2019 09:59 Charles Waring E-mailPrintPDF

                           altLed by the charismatic figure of singer, songwriter and showman extraordinaire, August Darnell, Kid Creole & The Coconuts blew into the 1980s like a breath of fresh air. Marrying Latin music with calypso, disco, salsa, funk, jazz, and a touch of 1940s Hollywood glamour, they created an intoxicating musical brew that was hugely popular and resulted in several hit singles around the globe. You can now experience the magic of  the band in concert at the zenith of their fame via the ensemble's first ever official live album, 'Live In Paris 1985.'

It's just been released on CD (and can also be downloaded and streamed) by Rainman Records and it captures the group at a Parisian venue called The Zenith on September 15th 1985. Darnell (aka Kid Creole) is in top form, leading the band through sixteen songs, including their memorable hits 'I'm A Wonderful Thing, Baby,' 'Stool Pigeon,' and 'Annie, I'm Not Your Daddy.'

Kid Creole & The Coconuts' 'Live In Paris 1985' Is Out Now Via Rainman Records

Last Updated on Sunday, 03 March 2019 14:17



Friday, 01 March 2019 18:55 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altBeen a while since we heard from the small but perfectly formed Dome Records, but, at last, they get into their 2019 stride with a lovely new single from the oddly named LASPERANZA.

Lasperanza (the name is something to do with "hope") is the the brainchild of UK producer/musician Rico Garofalo who is lining up an album., 'Seeds', for May release. A sax player by profession, Mr G has always wanted to make an album of his versions of soul and dance classics – the kind of music that inspired him through the 80s – and that's what he's promising on 'Seeds'.

Now that new single – it's the album's lead off track and it's a gorgeous, lazy, brassy, rolling version of Gwen Guthrie's 'It Should Have Been You' with a sweet, sweet vocal from Izzy Chase. We're told that other vocalists on the upcoming album include Keni Stevens and DeCosta Boyce and the chosen songs vary from the well-known to the more obscure.

Rico says; "I didn't want to do straightforward covers. I wanted to change the arrangements, be it from a rhythmic or harmonic aspect, sometimes both, while always keeping a soul/jazz flavour. Give the songs a new lease of life rather than just a fresh lick of paint."

See if he's right by checking out 'It Should Have Been You'... available from today.

Last Updated on Sunday, 03 March 2019 14:14



Friday, 01 March 2019 18:49 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altWhat do you get when a top UK soul writer/blogger gets together with the UK's premier soul and jazz streaming service.... a damn good listen , that's what!

At the back end of last year soul man about town, TOBY WALKER, of the web site teamed up with BRIAN HURST'S (not to be confused with the UK biggest and brightest indie soul site i.e. this one!) to curate a monthly soul podcast and his programme is now into its third edition. Listen in and you can expect plenty of top class soul. The podcast is divided into three sections – classic tunes, new, fresh music and 'The Soul Cellar' which Toby dedicates to his old friend, the veteran soul DJ Peter Young who, sadly, died last year. PY would be rightly proud to know that Toby is keeping the real soul flag flying high.

Listen and/or find out more @ or

Last Updated on Friday, 01 March 2019 19:03



Friday, 01 March 2019 18:45 Bill B E-mailPrintPDF

altDon't know too much about new age US soul man ANTHONY MARTIN, save that he's a member of the Kingz In R&B group. He's also pursuing a solo career with the King Muzik label and his debut single 'You've Got Me' is making some noise Stateside. You can hear why... it's a very contemporary American R&B sound - a rumbling, pleading shuffle and it's out now.

Last Updated on Friday, 01 March 2019 19:04


Page 8 of 711



My Account

To comment on an article you must be registered and logged in.